top of page

A Touch of Understanding

On my daily walk today I witnessed an altercation that just was not right in so many ways.

An older lady was walking home with her groceries in her shopping cart. It was filled all the way to the very top and the thought actually crossed my mind that she was quite skilled in balancing the contents of the cart while navigating the bumpy sidewalk and crossing the street. Something that I would have trouble doing as my skills do not extend to such, I thought as I smiled to myself.

Continuing on with my walk, I no longer followed her progress, when all of a sudden, my attention was grabbed by angry shouts. I turned around and saw a young couple swearing at that same older lady. She had accidentally knocked the girl it seems and both of them were swearing profusely and threatening her while she was apologizing. Not one person watching said a word and everyone waiting next to the bus stop close by just looked on.

I found this very disturbing and was wondering if I should turn back or tell them to consider the uneven sidewalk and the ability to control the cart as well as the underlying reason for a total stranger to decide to start an altercation with 2 persons. However, before I could act, the lights changed and the couple crossed the street while continuing to shout threats at the poor woman.

A little bit of understanding and kindness could have gone a long way in brightening that poor woman’s day. However, it was not meant to be. How much damage can one cause by bumping another with those small shopping carts that one use to go to the store?

As we go through life, try to be a bit more understanding of the who, what, why, when and where. Life happens and we are not always right. If you can brighten someone’s day, take a moment to do so. In return you are brightening your own day.

...And some quotes about understanding to keep you inspired….

Any fool can criticize, condemn, and complain but it takes character and self control to be understanding and forgiving.
~ Dale Carnegie
Don't believe what your eyes are telling you. All they show is limitation. Look with your understanding, find out what you already know, and you'll see the way to fly.
~ Richard Bach
The reality of the other person is not in what he reveals to you, but in what he cannot reveal to you. Therefore, if you would understand him, listen not to what he says but rather what he does not say.
~ Kahlil Gibran
All truths are easy to understand once they are discovered; the point is to discover them.
~ Galileo Galilei
You don't need strength to let go of something. What you really need is understanding.
~ Guy Finley

Take a moment and share with us a time when understanding could have helped make things better.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page