top of page

Memories of the Ocean

Updated: Apr 7, 2021

I remember ... the childhood days of walking along the shores of the Atlantic. I remember bonfires built on the sand while we roasted fish, freshly caught on many a moonlight night as we fished with my father. Not appreciated back then, these memories call out to me now.


So much has changed in my island home but the beautiful, white sandy beaches and these carefree days as a child remain alive in my memory.


Memories of the ocean, happy times with friends and family, these can never fade. These are a treasured part of me, of my heritage and when I need to find myself, I only have to reach into my memory and find one of the stored treasures that lie within.


These beautiful quotes below about the ocean never fail to inspire me. I hope that they provide a touch of inspiration to you.


There’s nothing more beautiful than the way the ocean refuses to stop kissing the shoreline, no matter how many times it’s sent away.
– Sarah Kay
I pray to be like the ocean, with soft currents, maybe waves at times. More and more, I want the consistency rather than the highs and the lows.
Drew Barrymore
Being out there in the ocean, God’s creation, it’s like a gift He has given us to enjoy.
Bethany Hamilton
The ocean is everything I want to be. Beautiful, mysterious, wild, and free.
Unknown
You can either see yourself as a wave in the ocean or you can see yourself as the ocean.
— Oprah Winfrey
We are like islands in the sea, separate on the surface but connected in the deep.
William James
I wish I could describe the feeling of being at sea, the anguish, frustration, and fear, the beauty that accompanies threatening spectacles, the spiritual communion with creatures in whose domain I sail.
Steve Callahan
Dance with the waves, move with the sea, let the rhythm of the water set your soul free.
Christy Ann Martine
You never really know what’s coming. A small wave, or maybe a big one. All you can really do is hope that when it comes, you can surf over it, instead of drowning in its monstrosity.
- Alysha Speer
If you want to hear the distant voice of the ocean put your ear to the lips of a seashell.
Curtis Tyrone Jones

Do you have any favourite quotes about the ocean? Take a moment to share...

83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page